Batman and Bandcamp

It was difficult to find any great pictures of Daniel; he is the one with the Tony Starkesque facial hair. You can find him everyday on Twitch, also check out his band on Spotify. He rocks individually & they also rock as a unit.

Daniel Wayne probably definitely related to Batman

I was led to Daniel Wayne’s channel about eight months ago and was immediately drawn to his very down to earth personality. As he interacts with chat it feels like you are talking with an old friend. His back and forth discussions with his viewers show how much he values other opinions. He is one those people that seems to strive to learn something from everyone he meets. It was quickly evident that he was well practiced in his craft so it made total sense when I had found out that he had been streaming for over seven hundred days in a row at that point (it’s over nine hundred now). Due to this fact Daniel really knows the two hundred plus songs on his song list and he knows them quite well. He has an insane level of dedication to streaming and music regularly streaming for eight hours or more in a day. In his repertoire you will find everything from surf to classic folk and from pop to indie alternative. Most importantly he is one of the few I have seen with Phil Ochs on their song list and I quite enjoy Mr. Ochs. There is one thing that Phil Ochs and Daniel Wayne have in common; that is that their music deserves more attention. Daniel has a few original tunes that are stellar as well so I am hopeful that there will be more to come in the future. I cannot tell you exactly why but his voice initially reminded me of Brandon Flowers perhaps that is just the kind of vibe he gives off. He has a distinct voice that meshes quite well with the songs he has curated for his streams. Whenever I stop by one of his streams I am never disappointed by the music or the company. You should stop by and give him a listen and also check out his band Lovejet rumor has it they have Santa Claus on bass.

Kevin aka knumbthegeek

Check out knumbthegeek on Twitch, YouTube & Bandcamp

The first thing I noticed about Kevin is that while streaming he is like a kid in a candy store; he is so full of enthusiasm and always seems to be thoroughly enjoying himself. This feeling definitely transfers to you as watch I always end up smiling as I watch his streams. He has a whimsical personality and seems to pretty much just say exactly what he is thinking and it’s incredible. While watching his streams I will find myself asking “wait did he just say that/do that?” yep he did and then I proceed to laugh hysterically. Along with being fantastically goofy and entertaining he is also an impressive musician; playing a myriad of different instruments and utilizing them in very creative ways. Fun fact I never knew that Fisher Price toys could generate actual music turns out they can. A week ago I picked up his instrumental EP on bandcamp entitled “The Wind In The Walls” and I have been most impressed by it and I enjoy its very calm and soothing feel. It took a number of listens to really appreciate some of the instrumentation contained within it being very much not musically inclined myself I am sure there is much more I am probably missing. He is one of the more impressive folk musicians that I have come across and I always enjoy the magnificent folk spins he puts on the covers that he plays; I refer to this as a song getting knumbified. He has a number of originals that are not only musically well-crafted but are also lyrically hilarious in a Weird Al kind of fashion. My day is always brightened by watching him perform. I don’t really have anything eloquent to say so I will just say Kevin is great go listen to his music; watch him perform you won’t be sorry.

Kat Burns aka KASHKA

Here is yet another unbelievable musician hailing from the mysterious land to the North known as Canada. I recently acquired her most recent album “Relax” on Bandcamp and it is marvelous. It contains dazzling hooks; stunning orchestration and lyrics that are eloquent and effecting. KASHKA has a most experimental sound perhaps more so than anyone that I have written about as of late and it really sucked me in. While listening to Relax on more than one occasion felt as if I was floating away on a cloud to some sort of alternate plane of existence. It is hard for me to classify her music within a single genre there a dreamy pop sound at times and other times an indie folk type of sound. Her sound seems to defy genres in more ways than one and because of this I really think that anyone can appreciate her music for one reason or the next. I want to highlight two songs from Relax that I really enjoyed I felt they had some similar themes and they both utterly brilliant tracks. They are entitled Holding Steady & Signs. While these tracks are not about the exact same thing I saw some overlap as they both discuss self-discovery and empowerment. In the section preceding the chorus and including the chorus we hear:

“If I could count up all the hours that I've spent
Lost in worry, apprehension or regret
It would become so clear that we've learned to fear
The line of what was said and what was really meant…
Now I’m kicking in the glass walls
Learning how to stand tall
Learning how to speak.”  

I instantly felt like I could relate to that sentiment; I have had many times in my life where I felt like this sentiment applies. Pulling yourself out of rut, striving to conquer our challenges which as you know for me has usually been anxiety, discovering what it means to be you and not apologizing for who you are. In Signs there is a section that reminds of the previous track “We gotta break the wall, We gotta break the silence (Every time), We gotta watch it fall (Every time).” I felt empowered by this track as it speaks of becoming unified and breaking the status quo. I found myself in an inspired and contemplative state as I listened to this album. I decided to attempt to do something I have never done before that being songwriting “gotta risk it, how will we grow.” If all this wasn’t enough of an endorsement I will just tell you that you should check out KASHKA and see what journey you are lead on.

Find Kat streaming on Twitch, find her music on Soundcloud, YouTube and Spotify

Leave a comment